
REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE 

1.  The Marriage license must be purchased at least 72 hours before the wedding date, but no 

more than 90 days before. The license expires at the end of the 90-day period immediately 

following the date the license is issued. (Active Duty Military Personnel are exempt from the 72 

hour waiting period). 

2.  Both Applicants shall appear together and submit a valid proof of age and identity: Driver’s 

License, State ID, Passport & Military ID. Almost any picture ID issued by the U.S. Government or 

any other government will suffice. As long as the correct name and date of birth are shown on 

the document. (The Mexican Matricula will NOT be accepted).  

3.  Both Parties shall appear together before the County Clerk.  

4.  A minor under the age of 18 will not be issued a marriage license unless a court order signed by 

the District Court is presented to the County Clerk. If a minor has been married before, then a 

certified copy of the divorce decree must be presented at the time of application and the minor 

can then get married per Statute.  

5.  If both applicants present an ID with an out of state address, there will be a $100 fee attached 

to the marriage license fee per Statute.  

6.  Applicants cannot be related to each other as ancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption; a 

brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by adoption; a parent’s brother or sister of the 

whole or half blood or by adoption; a son or daughter or sister of the whole or half blood or by 

adoption. No blood test is required.  

7.  If either party has been divorced from another person within the last 30 days , a certified copy 

of the divorce decree must be presented to show the 30 days waiting period has been waived, 

or a court order signed by a judge waiving the 30 days must be presented at the time of 

application.  

8.  The fee of the marriage license is $82.00 cash, credit or debit card. If paid with a card there will 

be a $2.17 service fee. Couples who participate in premarital counseling through a certified 

Texas Health and Human Services Commission provider called Twogether in Texas must present 

their certificate of course completion at the time they apply for the marriage license; the 

certificate must be used within 1 year of marriage of issuance. The cost of the Marriage License 

to applicants who have attended the above motioned counseling is $22.00 and the 72-hour 

waiting period is waived. PLEASE ALLOW APPROXIMATELY 10 MINUTES FOR ISSUANCE OF THE 

LICENSE.  

 

TOM GREEN COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE          HOURS OF OPERATION  

124 W. BEAUREGARD     MONDAY-FRIDAY  

SAN ANGELO, TX 76903                7:30 A.M. – 4:15 P.M.  

325-659-6556 


