INSTRUCTIONS FOR OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

MAY NOT BE USED FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE
The requirements for the issuance of a Texas Occupational Driver's License are:
1. Get your SR-22 from your car insurance company and bring it to the Judge’s office along with the petition/order and your
money orders.

2. A hearing may be set to determine if you are eligible to receive an Occupational Driver’s License. At that time the Judge
will either grant/deny you an occupational driver's license. You must tell her/him your occupation, your driver's license
number, and what date your license was suspended.

3. If the Judge grants a driver's license, then you must take it to the County Clerk’s office for filing. It will cost you
approximately $266.00(cash or credit card) ($250.00 filing fee plus $5.00 each for two certified copies plus $1.00 for each
page certified).

4. The Order must then be filed with the County Clerk's Office. You will receive two certified copies of the Order and the
Petition. Mail one set to the DPS and keep the other set for yourself. You must have a certified copy of the Order and Petition
on your person for the entire period that your regular license is suspended.

5. You must send the following:
1. Certified copy of the Order and Petition
2. Copy of the SR-22
3. DIC-37 (attached below)
4. A $125 money order (reinstatement fee)
5. A $10.00 money order (occupational license)

6. Send the above to:

SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY

TEXAS DEPT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE

BOX 15999

AUSTIN, TX 78761-5999
If you do not receive your Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) before the
45" day after the date this Order takes effect, you MUST not drive until you receive your ODL from DPS or come back to court
to get an Amended Order for your ODL that extends the 45-day time period.

DATA FOR TEXAS OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE ~ DIC-37

Print or type Full Name

First Middle Last
Street Address City State Zip Code
| Date of Birth | | Color | Color| Weight | Height | Driver’s License

[Month Day Year |Sex | Eyes | Hair |Pounds| Ft Inch | Number

This is to certify that | am the person named and described herein.

USUAL SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

INFORMATION BELOW THIS LINE IS FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

Date of Issue Expire



No.

THE STATE OF TEXAS IN THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW
VS. OF

TOM GREEN COUNTY, TEXAS

PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT;

NOW COMES , Defendant and Petitioner in the above entitled and numbered cause, and files
this Petition requesting an occupational driver's license and as cause therefore would show the Court as follows:

1. Petitioner is a resident of , San Angelo, Texas.

2. On (date) said Petitioner's driver's license # was placed under mandatory
suspension, said suspension was for a cause other than physical or mental disability or impairment.

3. Petitioner is employed by . It is necessary for him to operate a motor vehicle and
further unless he is able to drive to and from his residence to his place of employment, he will be unable to continue his
employment.

4. Petitioner has and will offer proof of a valid policy of automobile liability insurance in accordance with the provisions of the
Texas Safety Responsibility Law.

5. Petitioner is the principal bread-winner for himself and without an occupational driver's license, it will be impossible for
Petitioner to maintain his present employment, and consequently his ability to support himself will be substantially impaired.

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner prays the Court enter an Order finding that the essential need for operating
a motor vehicle in the performance of his occupation exists and that the Texas Department of Public Safety be ordered to return to
Petitioner, his driver's license subject to the afore set out limitations. Petitioner further prays for such other and further relief to
which he may be entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

Defendant and Petitioner

THE STATE OF TEXAS
COUNTY OF TOM GREEN

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared , who on oath
stated that he is the Petitioner in this cause and that the allegations and representations set out above are, within his knowledge, true
and correct.

Defendant and Petitioner

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME this the day of , 20 , to certify which, witness
my hand and seal of office.

NOTARY PUBLIC STATE OF TEXAS



No.

THE STATE OF TEXAS IN THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW
VS. OF

TOM GREEN COUNTY, TEXAS

ORDER FOR OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

THIS day of : , at a regular term of the Court, came to be heard the above entitled and
numbered cause wherein is Petitioner, and the Court having examined the
Petitioner's Petition for Occupational Driver's License, and having determined that the same is in due form and contains
all of the allegations and information required by law, and having heard the evidence and arguments of counsel and being
of the opinion that the material allegations of such Petition are supported by the evidence are true and that all pre-
requisites of law have been complied with.

The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s driver’s license is not denied, suspended, or revoked because of physical or mental
disability or nonpayment of child support.

The Court FINDS that Petitioner has not been issued more than one Occupational Driver’s License following a
conviction during the past 10 years.

The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s driver’s license is suspended because:

____ This Court convicted Petitioner of
under cause number

____ Driving While Intoxicated

____ Controlled Substance/Drug offense

____Habitual violator of traffic laws

____ Other

on (date)

The Court FINDS that Petitioner:
____isemployed by:
____ Self Employed/address:
____Attends School:
____ Other essential needs:

Petitioner must not drive more than:
____4hours in any 24 hour period
____ 12 hours in any 24 hour period
____Geographical restrictions:
___Log Book: Petitioner must always keep a log book and must correctly record all dates, times, destinations, and

reasons for each trip. Petitioner must show this log book to any law enforcement officer upon demand
____Petitioner must only drive on the days and at the times specified below:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday | Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
From

am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm
To

am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm

____Additional:




The Court ORDERS that this Petition for Occupational Driver’s License is GRANTED subject to the following
restrictions listed below:

During the effective term of this order, Petitioner shall not operate a motor vehicle in a public place while having any
detectable amount of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, or a combination of two or more of these substances in the
Petitioner’s system.

____Any personal vehicle owned or operated by Petitioner MUST be equipped with a working ignition interlock device.
A person may operate a motor vehicle without an interlock if they are required to operate a motor vehicle in the
course and scope of employment and the vehicle is owned by employer.

___ Petitioner must not refuse any lawful request by law enforcement for a sample of Petitioner’s breath or blood if
Stopped for Driving While Intoxicated

___Petitioner must submit to periodic/random testing for alcohol or controlled substances as follows:

___ Petitioner must attend the alcohol/drug counseling program listed below and submit proof of attendance.

____ Petitioner must submit to Community Supervision as follows:

____ Petitioner must only drive to/from work, school, and other essential duties to include Medical appointments,
Court appointments, attorney appointments, probation office meetings, and any supervision, education, counseling,
or other essential needs authorized by this Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Petitioner shall be required to give proof of a valid policy of auto liability insurance in
accordance with the Texas State Safety Responsibility Law. This order valid until

ATTENTION PEACE OFFICERS
If the bearer of this order is arrested/charged with any violation of Texas or Federal law, or is found by you
not to be in compliance, you are instructed to send the Court a copy of the citation, complaint, or incident
report.

SIGNED

JUDGE, COUNTY COURT AT LAW

Insurance Co.

Current Policy No.

DL No.




	MAY NOT BE USED FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE

