COUNTY OF TOM GREEN

ORDER PROHIBITING OUTDOOR BURNING

50 50

§

FILED FOR RECOR 2025 FEB 28 PM 4:1

IRISTINA UBANDI

WHEREAS, the Texas Forest Service has determined that drought conditions exist within Tom Green County and the County Judge of Tom Green County finds that circumstances present in all or part of the unincorporated area of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor burning;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the County Judge of Tom Green County that all outdoor burning is prohibited in the unincorporated area of the county for 90 days from the date of adoption of this Order, unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made by the Texas Forest Service or this Court. This Order is adopted pursuant to Local Government Code §352.081, and other applicable statutes. This Order does not prohibit cooking stoves fueled by "white gasoline" or outdoor cooking grills fueled by propane or natural gas. This Order does not prohibit outdoor burning activities related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality for (1) firefighter training: (2) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining operations; (3) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops OR a prescribed burn manager certified under Section 153.048, Natural Resources Code, and meet the standards of Section 153.047, Natural Resources Code. Prior to commencement of a prescribed burn, the persons or entities conducting said burn shall notify and file a written copy of the proposed plan for the burn with all law enforcement agencies and fire departments having jurisdiction over the area(s) affected by the burn giving all details of the proposed burn including the names of all individuals, agencies, experts and landowner(s) involved in the burn. Pursuant to Local Government Code Sec. 352.081(e)(2) a determination may be made by the County Judge to terminate the burn ban order if "circumstances no longer exist to prohibit or restrict outdoor burning in general or outdoor burning of a particular substance in all or part of the unincorporated area of the county". This order shall become effective at 5:00 ρ .M. on the 28^{+} day of February, 2025. In accordance with Local Government Code §352.081(h), a violation of this Order is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed \$500.00.

ADOPTED this 28th day of February, 2025.

Lane Carter, County Judge