JUSTICE COURT CIVIL SUITS-REPAIR AND REMEDY

Justice Court Pct 3 of Tom Green County, Texas 3052 N Bryant, Tom Green, Texas 76903 www.co.tom-gree n.tx.us
Honorable Stacye W. Speck
Justice of The Peace
(325)657-9922

Instructions and information regarding filing Justice Court Suits. Please read carefully before completing a petition.

PLEASE NOTE: EFFECTIVE AUGUST 31, 2013 ALL CIVIL SUITS IN JUSTICE COURTS WILL BE GOVERENED BY NEW RULES OF CIVIL
PROCEDURE FOR JUSTICE COURT CASES ADOPTED BY THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS. TO REVIEW THE NEW RULES OR PRINT A
COPY PLEASE VISIT THE TOM GREEN COUNTY WEBSITE AT www.co.tom-green.tx.us.IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU
REVIEW THE NEW RULES PRIOR TO FILING YOUR CASE TO DETERMINE WHICH CATEGORY OF CASE TO FILE.

TO REVIEW ALL THE TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE AND RULES OF EVIDENCE PLEASE FOLLOWING THE LINK TO THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS. http://www.supreme.courts.state.tx.us/rules/rules.asp

THE JUDGE AND COURT PERSONNEL ARE PROHIBITED FROM GIVING "LEGAL ADVICE" TO ANYONE. ALTHOUGH AN ATTORNEY IS NOT REQUIRED, YOU MAY WISH TO CONSULT AN ATTORNEY FOR ANY AND ALL LEGAL ADVICE. IN ADDITION, AS A MATTER OF LAW, THE JUDGE IS PROHIBITED FROM DISCUSSING ANY MATERIAL FACT OF THE LAWSUIT WITH A LITIGANT OR DEFENDANT PRIOR TO TRIAL OR HEARING.

The new Rules for Justice Court classify 4 categories of civil cases.

Small Claims Case

A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than \$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Small claims cases are governed by Rules 500-507 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure.

Debt Claim Case

A debt claim case is a lawsuit brought to recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money at interest. The claim can be for no more than \$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Debt claim cases in justice court are governed by Rules 500-507 and 508 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of any conflict between Rule 508 and the rest of Part V, Rule 508 applies.

Repair and Remedy Case

A repair and remedy case is a lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the landlord's duty to repair or remedy a condition materially affecting the physical health or safety of an ordinary tenant. The relief sought can be for no more than \$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Repair and remedy cases are governed by Rules 500-507 and 509 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of any conflict between Rule 509 and the rest of Part V, Rule 509 applies.

Eviction Case

An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover possession of real property under Chapter 24 of the Texas Property Code, often by a landlord against a tenant. A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if the amount of rent due and unpaid is not more than \$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Eviction cases are governed by Rules 500-507 and 510 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of any conflict between Rule 510 and the rest of Part V, Rule 510 applies.

In all civil suits, the defendant generally has the right to be sued in the county and precinct in which he resides. There are exceptions to this venue rule. For detailed information regarding Venue please refer to Rule 502.4 and Chapter 15, Subchapter E of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code. The following link will provide you with access to ALL Texas Laws: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/. Click on Texas Statutes and choose the Texas Laws you wish to review.

Although not required by Law, it is requested that prior to filling this suit you send a **Demand letter** to the party you are contemplating suing giving the party at least 10 days to notify them of the potential for civil action and give them an opportunity to satisfy the claim prior to the still. It is recommended that this be sent certified mail return receipt requested.

It is your burden as a plaintiff and it is important that you understand that for any potential judgment you may receive to be valid it is necessary for you to sue the defendant in their proper legal capacity. Consult with your attorney if you are unsure of the defendant's proper legal capacity. Should you file against the wrong entity, you may have to begin again and will have to pay for trial expenses caused by filing against the wrong party. For Corporations and to determine the Agent for Service for a Corporation you should contact Texas Secretary of State at 1-800-252-1386.

AFTER REVIEWING THE RULES, PLEASE FULLY COMPLETE THE APPROPRIATE PETITION AND THE REQUIRED FORMS.

What must be filed:

ONE ORIGINAL PETITIONS

ONE Copy of Demand Letter and signed return receipt, if available ONE Military Affidavit

ONE Military Status Report

ONE Certificate of last known address

One Justice Court Information Sheet

Always keep track of your case numbers so that you can refer to them when calling our office regarding your case. The case number will be on your receipt.

This court does not collect the money judgment for you nor can we force an indigent defendant to pay the judgment. If you receive a judgment against the defendant this court can issue various instruments to assist you in collecting the judgment. You may request an Abstract of Judgment, Writ of Execution, Writ of Garnishment, and Turnover Order. It is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney for any of these processes as in some instances an attorney is required.

An Abstract of Judgment puts a lien on any real property the defendant may own in a particular county where the Abstract is recorded. The Abstract is only valid in the county or counties where it is recorded. This can be obtained ten days after the date the judgment is signed.

The Writ of Execution may be obtained thirty days after the judgment is signed. This document authorizes the Sheriff or Constable to seize any assets belonging to the defendant that are subject to this writ. Those assets are then auctioned at a public sale and the proceeds are app lied to the judgment.

A Writ of Garnishment is also available 30 days after the final judgment has been signed. This Garnishment proceeding is a Separate small claims suit. A writ of garnishment is a process for seizing assets, both money and property, held by a third party {the garnishee) but owed or belonging to the debtor. For example, a defendant against whom a judgment has been issued {the judgment debtor) may have a bank account. The bank holds the money in the account, but the money belongs to the defendant. The bank is therefore indebted to the defendant. A writ of garnishment is the legal process by which the plaintiff (garnishor) can require the bank {garnishee} to turn over the money in the account to satisfy the judgment. An attorney is required.

A Turnover Order is available after the judgment is signed and its purpose is to provide a court-ordered means of reaching property which cannot easily be reached thorough ordinary legal process and which is not exempt from attachment, execution, etc. An attorney should be used because the courts clerical staff will not be able by law to assist you in drafting the documents that are necessary.

Please understand that as a plaintiff, you have the burden of proof to show by the preponderance of the evidence that the defendant you are suing is the proximate cause of your damage(s) in the legal capacity in which defendant is sued. All damages and evidence necessary to meet your burden should all be available at the time of filing and no later than the date of the trial.

DISCOVERY: <u>ANY AND ALL</u> PRE TRIAL/PRE JUDGMENT DISCOVERY MUST BE APPROVED BY THE COURT. PLEASE REFER TO SECTION 500.9 OF THE NEW RULES.

RULE 501.4 REQUIRES YOU, AS PLAINTIFF OR DEFENDANT, TO SERVE THE OTHER PARTY WITH ANYTHING FILED WITH THE COURT IN THE MANNER PRESCRIBED BY THIS RULE.

Should you be granted possession of the property and the defendant fails to move or fails to appeal to the County Court within 5 days, you may request a **Writ of Possession** ordering the defendant to move. The Writ may be requested (in writing) at the beginning of the 6th day following the date the Judgment was signed by the Judge.

This court does not collect the money judgment for you nor can we force an indigent defendant to pay the judgment. If you receive a judgment against the defendant, this court can issue various instruments to assist you in collecting the judgment. IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY FOR THESE PROCESSES. You may request an Abstract of Judgment, Writ of Execution Writ of Garnishment, and Turnover Order.

An Abstract Judgment puts a lien on any real property the defendant may own in a particular county where the Abstract is recorded. The Abstract is only valid in the county or counties where it is recorded. This can be obtained ten days after the date the judgment is signed.

The Writ of Execution may be obtained thirty days after the judgment is signed. This document will authorize the Sheriff or Constable to seize any assets belonging to the defendant that are subject to this writ. Those assets are then auctioned at a public sale and the proceeds are applied to the judgment.

A Writ of Garnishment is also available 30 days after the final judgment has been signed. This Garnishment proceeding is a separate suit wherein you are the plaintiff and the defendant's bank becomes the defendant. You are actually suing the bank in which the original defendant has his bank account. You are warning the said bank to freeze the monetary assets of his account and to appear and make answer to the Garnishment suit. An attorney is required.

A Turnover Order is available after the judgment is signed and its purpose is to provide a court-ordered means of reaching property which cannot easily be reached thorough ordinary legal process and which is exempt from attachment, execution, etc. An attorney should be used because the courts clerical staff will not be able by law to assist you in drafting the documents that are necessary.

A Subpoena may be requested if you need a witness(s) in your case. Except as provided by Section 22.002, a witness is entitled to \$10 dollars for each day the witness attends court. This fee includes the entitlement for travel and the witness is not entitled to any reimbursement for mileage traveled. The party who summons the witness shall pay that witness's fee for one day, as provided by this section, at the time the subpoena is served on the witness. The witness fee must be taxed in the bill of costs as other costs.

Fee Schedule for Eviction suits: (MONEY ORDERS ONLY - NO CASH OR CHECKS ACCEPTED)

	Courtrees	Service rees	IUIAI
Filing fee-Defendant in Tom Green Co.	\$54	\$ 85	\$ 139
2 Defendants (same case)	\$54	\$170	\$ 224
Defendant out-of-County	\$54	(call for amoun	t)
Jury Fee	\$22.00		

(Request for Jury must be made and fee paid no later than 14 days before the case is set for trial. If not timely made, the right to a jury trial is waived).

	Court Fees	Service Fees	<u>Total</u>
Abstract of Judgment	\$5.00		\$5.00
Writ of Possession	\$5.00	\$200.00	\$205.00
Writ of Execution	\$5.00	\$200.00	\$205.00
Subpoena	Contact the Con	urt	
Writ of Garnishment	\$54.00	\$200.00	\$254.00
Turnover Order	\$5.00	\$200.00	\$205.00
1 44110 1 01 01 01	Ψ5.00	Φ200100	52.00.00

CAUSE NO			-	
PLAINTIFF	§ §	IN THE	JUSTICE COUR	Т
v.	<i>๛๛๛๛๛๛</i>	PRECIN	CT NO. 3	
DEFENDANT	9 §	TOM GR	EEN COUNTY,	TEXAS
PETITION: REPAIR	RAND	REMEDY	CASE	
COMPLAINT: Plaintiff files this petition aga Rule 509 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedo Code because there is a condition in Plai materially affect the health or safety of an or Information Regarding Residential Renta	ure and ntiff's dinary	d Section residenti Plaintiff.	92.0563 of th	e Texas Property
Street Address Unit No. (if any) City		County	Stat	e Zip Code
Defendant's Contact Information (to the exte	nt kno	own):		
Street Address Unit No. (if any) City	Cou	nty Sta	ite Zip Cod	e Phone No.
SERVICE OF CITATION: Plaintiff requests required, alternative service pursuant to Ru Plaintiff will check the box next to each state Defendant's name and business street addres business street address of Defendant's man management company is management company's contact information	nle 509 ment t ss. 🗆 I ageme	0.4 of the hat is true laintiff rent compa	Texas Rules o e: □ Plaintiff re eceived in writ my. □ The nan	f Civil Procedure. eceived in writing ing the name and ne of Defendant's
Street Address Unit No. (if any) City The name of Defendant's on-premises manknowledge, this is the on-premises manager	nager i		•	Phone No To Plaintiff's
Street Address Unit No. (if any) City The name of Defendant's rent collector ser is To Plaintiff's information:	ving tl		ntial rental pro	
Street Address Unit No. (if any) City	Cou	nty Sta	te Zip Code	Phone No.
PROPERTY CONDITION: The property cond safety of an ordinary Plaintiff that Plain				

☐ The lease is oral. ☐ The lease is in writing	g. The lease r	<u>h</u> statement that i equires the notice	
remedy a condition to be in writing. \square Plain	tiff gave writte	n notice to repair	or remedy the
condition on □ The	written notice t	o repair or remed	y the condition
was sent by certified mail, return,	receipt reques	ted, or registe	red mail on
🗆 Plaintiff gave or	al notice to rep	air or remedy th	e condition on
Name of person(s)			
Place where notice	was given:		
RENT: At the time Plaintiff gave notice to rep □ current (no rent owed); □ not current but did not accept it; or □ not current and Plaint Plaintiff's rent is due on the day of the rent-payment period). Plaintiff's rent is \$ any other rent-payment period). Plaintiff's r subsidized by the government as follows, if and \$ paid by Plaintiff.	Plaintiff offere iff did not offer month wee per mon ent: sont su	d to pay the rent to pay the rent ovek \(\sime\) (spenth \(\sime\) week \(\sime\) (spenth \(\sime\) week \(\sime\)	and Defendant wed. ecify any other (specify overnment □ is
RELIEF REQUESTED: Plaintiff requests the order to repair or remedy the condition; □ amount of \$ to begin on a civil penalty of one month's rent plus \$50 states that the total relief requested does not be a civil penalty of the conditions are the co	□ a court order ; □ actual dama)0; □ attorney's	reducing Plaintilges in the amount fees; and \square court	ff's rent in the t of \$; costs. Plaintiff
costs but including attorney's fees.	or execed \$10,0	oo, excluding inte	rest and court
costs but including attorney's fees.			
costs but including attorney's fees. I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is \$22 I hereby consent for the answer and any of	and must be pather motions or	aid at least 14 day	s before trial.
costs but including attorney's fees. I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is \$22 I hereby consent for the answer and any of address as follows:	and must be pather motions or	aid at least 14 day	s before trial.
costs but including attorney's fees. I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is \$22 I hereby consent for the answer and any of address as follows:	and must be pather motions or Signature	aid at least 14 day	s before trial.
	and must be pather motions or Signature	pleadings to be se	s before trial.
costs but including attorney's fees. I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is \$22 I hereby consent for the answer and any of address as follows:	and must be patternations or Signature or Plaintif	pleadings to be se	s before trial.
costs but including attorney's fees. I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is \$22 I hereby consent for the answer and any of address as follows:	and must be patternations or Signature or Plaintif	pleadings to be seen of Plaintiff If s Attorney	s before trial.

In addition to the above information, the Service Member's Civil Relief Act has become law. The legislation, passed by Congress and signed by the President, took effect immediately when it was signed on December 19, 2003.

When filing any Civil Suits this form MUST be filled out with proof of military status, report and accompany the complaint upon filing. Military status can be determined at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/single-record

Military Status Affidavit Sec. 201 (b)

	CAUSE NO.	
	§	IN THE JUSTICE COURT
PLAINTIFF	§	
	§	
V.	§	PRECINCT 3
	§	
	§	
DEFENDANT	§	TOM GREEN COUNTY, TEXAS
SER	VICEMEMBER'S CIVIL RE	LIEF ACT AFFIDAVIT

Instructions: The Servicemember's Civil Relief Act applies to a civil proceeding in the Justice Courts. Before entering a default judgment against an individual defendant, the plaintiff must file with the court an affidavit stating whether or not the defendant is in military service, showing necessary facts to support the affidavit, or stating that the plaintiff is unable to determine whether or not the defendant is in military service, if that is the case. The requirement for an affidavit may be satisfied by a written, signed document declared to be true under penalty of perjury. If it appears that the defendant is in military service, the court may not enter a judgment until after the court appoints an attorney to represent the defendant. If the court is unable to determine if the defendant is in military service, the court may require the plaintiff to file a bond in an amount approved by the court. To obtain certificates of service or non-service under the Servicemember's Civil Relief Act, you may access the public website: https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/ or https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/single-record. This website will provide the current active military status of an individual.

Pla	intiff being duly sworn under oath swears that Defendant is: (check one)
	not on active duty in the military on active military duty and/or is subject to the Servicemember's Civil Relief Act of 2003 has waived in writing his/her rights under the Servicemember's Civil Relief Act of 2003 military status is unknown at this time
	ORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on, 20
	RK OF THE JUSTICE COURT PCT. 3 OR NOTARY

*Penalty for making or using false affidavit – a person who makes or uses an affidavit knowing it to be false, shall be fined as provided in Title 18, United States Code, or imprisoned for not more than one year or both.

JUSTICE COURT CIVIL CASE INFORMATION SHEET (4/13)

CAUSE NUMBER (FOR CLERK USE ONLY):					
STYLED					
(e.g., John Smith v. Al	Il American Insurance (Co; In re Mary Ar	nn Jones; In the Matter of the Estate of George Jackson)		
best available at the time of filing. This sheet, requ	uired by Rule of Civil ts the filings or service	il Procedure 502 ce of pleading o	ition is filed to initiate a new suit. The information should be the , is intended to collect information that will be used for statistical r other documents as required by law or rule. The sheet does not at trial.		
1. Contact information for person comsheet:		ormation	2. Names of parties in case:		
Name:	Telephone:		Plaintiff(s):		
Address:	Fax:				
City/State/Zip:	State Bar No:		Defendant(s):		
Email:					
Signature:		[Attach additional page as necessary to list all parties]			
3. Indicate case type, or identify the most important issue in the case (select only 1):					
recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money at rent due and		on: An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover of real property, often by a landlord against a tenant. A ent may be joined with an eviction case if the amount of d unpaid is not more than \$20,000, excluding statutory court costs but including attorney fees, if any.			
lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the other relief		Claims: A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than cluding statutory interest and court costs but including is, if any.			