JUST 77 COURT CIVIL SUITS-DEBT CLAIM CASE
Justice Court Pct 3 of Tom Green County, Texas
3052 N Bryant, San Angelo, TX 76903

www.co.tom-green.tx.us
Honorable Fred Buck
Justice of the Peace
(325)657-9922

Instructions and information regarding filing Justice Court Suits. Please read carefully before completing a petition.

PLEASE NOTE: EFFECTIVE AUGUST 31, 2013 ALL CiVIL SUITS IN JUSTICE COURTS WILL BE GOVERENED BY NEW RULES OF CIViL
PROCEDURE FOR JUSTICE COURT CASES ADOPTED BY THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS. TO REVIEW THE NEW RULES OR PRINT A
COPY PLEASE VISIT THE TOM GREEN COUNTY WEBSITE AT www.co.tom-green.tx.us. iT iS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU
REVIEW THE NEW RULES PRIOR TO FILING YOUR CASE TO DETERMINE WHICH CATEGORY OF CASE TO FILE.

TO REVIEW ALL THE TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE AND RULES OF EVIDENCE PLEASE USE THE
FOLLOWING LINK TO THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS. www,supreme.courts.state.tx.us/rules/rules.asp

THE JUDGE AND COURT PERSONNEL ARE PROHIBITED FROM GIVING “LEGAL ADVICE” TO ANYONE. ALTHOUGH AN ATTORNEY IS NOT
REQUIRED, YOU MAY WISH TO CONSULT AN ATTORNEY FOR ANY AND ALL LEGAL ADVICE. IN ADDITION, AS A MATTER OF LAW,
THE JUDGE IS PROHIBITED FROM DISCUSSING ANY MATERIAL FACT OF THE LAWSUIT WITH A LITIGANT OR DEFENDANT
PRIOR TO TRIAL OR HEARING.

The new Rules for Justice Court classify 4 categories of civil cases.

Small Claims Case

A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other
relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but
including attorney fees, if any. Small claims cases are governed by Rules 500-507 of Part V of the Rules of Civil
Procedure.

Debt Claim Case

A debt claim case is a lawsuit brought to recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or collection agency, a
financial institution, or a person or entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money at interest. The claim can
be for no more than $ 20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Debt claim
cases in justice court are governed by Rules 500-507 and 508 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of
any conflict between Rule 508 and the rest of Part V, Rule 508 applies.

Repair and Remedy Case

A repair and remedy case is a lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, Subchapter B of the Texas Property
Code to enforce the landlord's duty to repair or remedy a condition materially affecting the physical health or safety of
an ordinary tenant. The relief sought can be for no more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but
including at | il 1y.Repait dremedycases ¢ verned by Rules 500-507 and 509 of Part v of the Rules of
Civil Procedure. To the extent of any conflict betweer Rule 509 and the rest of Part V, Rule )9 applies.

Eviction Case

An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover possession of real property under Chapter 24 of the Texas Property Code,
often by a landlord against a tenant. A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if the amount of rent due and
unpaid is not more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Eviction
cases are governed by Rules 500-507 and 5 1 0 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of any conflict
between Rule 510 and the rest of Part V, Rule 510 applies.



In all civil suits, the defendant generally has the right to be sued in the county and precinct in which he resides. There are
exceptions to this venue rule. For detailed information regarding Venue please refer to Rule 502.4 and Chapter 15, Subchapter
E of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code. The following link will provide you with access to ALL Texas Laws:

http ://www statutes legis .state.tx.us/. Click on Texas Statutes and choose the Texas Laws you wish to review.

Although not required by Law, it is requested that prior to filing this suit you send a Demand fetter to the party you are
contemplating suing giving the party at least 10 days to notify them of the potential for civil action and give them an
opportunity to satisfy the claim prior to the still. It is reccommended that this be sent certified mail return receipt requested.

It is your burden as a plaintiff and it is important that you understand that for any potential judgment you may receive to be
valid it is necessary for you to sue the defendant in their proper legal capacity. Consult with your attorney if you are unsure of
the defendant's proper legal capacity. Should you file against the wrong entity, you may have to begin again and will have to
pay for trial expenses caused by filing against the wrong party. For Corporations and to determine the Agent for Service for a
Corporation you should contact Texas Secretary of State at 1-800-252-1386.

AFTER REVIEWING THE RULES, PLEASE FULLY COMPLETE THE APPROPRIATE PETITION AND THE
REQUIRED FORMS,

What must be filed :

ONE ORIGINAL PETITIONS

ONE Copy of Demand Letter and signed return receipt, If available
ONE Military Affidavit

ONE Military Status Report

ONE Certificate of last known address

One Justice Court Information Sheet

Always keep track of your case numbers so that you can refer to them when calling our office regarding your case. The
case number will be on your receipt.

This court does not collect the money judgment for you nor can we force an indigent defendant to pay the judgment. If

you receive a judgment against the defendant this court can issue various instruments to assist you in collecting the judgment.
You may request an Abstract of Judgment, Writ of Execution, Writ of Garnishment, and Turnover Order. [t is highly
recommended that you consult with an attorney for any of these processes as in some instances an attorney is required.

An Abstract of Judgment puts a licn on any real property the defendant may own in a particular county where the Abstract is
recorded. The Abstract is only valid in the county or counties where it is recorded. This can be obtained ten days after the date
the judgment is signed.

The Writ of Execution may be obtained thirty days after the judgment is signed. This document authorizes the Sheriff or
Constable to seize any assets belonging to the defendant that are subject to this writ. Those assets are then auctioned at a public
sale and the proceeds are app lied to the judgment.

A Writ of Garnishment is also available 30 days after the final judgment has been signed. This Garnishment proceeding is a
Separate small claims suit. A writ of garnishment is a process for seizing assets, both money and property, held by a third party {the
garnishee) but owed or belonging to the debtor. For example, a defendant against whom a judgment has been issued {the judgment
debtor) may have a bank account. The bank holds the money in the account, but the money belongs to the defendant. The bank is
therefore indebted to the defendant. A writ of garnishment is the legal process by which the plaintiff (garnishor) can require the bank
{garnishee) to turn over the money in the account to satisfy the judgment. An attorney is required.

A Turnover Order is available after the judgment is signed and its purpose is to provide a court-ordered means of reaching
property which cannot easily be reached thorough ordinary legal process and which is not exempt from attachment, execution,
etc. An attorney should be used because the courts clerical staff will not be able by law to assist you in drafting the documents
that are necessary.

Piease understand that as a plaintiff, you have the burden of proof to show by the preponderance of the evidence that the
defendant you are suing is the proximate cause of your damage(s) in the legal capacity in which defendant is sued. All damages
and evidence necessary to meet your burden should all be available at the time of filing and no later than the date of the trial.



DISCOVERY: ANY AND ALL PRE TRIAL/PRE JUDGMENT DISCOVERY MUST BE APPRO . _) BY THE COURT.
PLEASE REFER TO SECTIC 500.9 OF THE NEW RULES.

RULE 501.4 REQUIRES YOU, AS PLAINTIFF OR DEFENDANT, TO SERVE THE O’ t PARTY WITH ANYTHING
FILED WITH THE COURT IN THE MANNER PRESCRIBED BY THIS RULE.

Motions for continuance must be made in writing at least 3 working days in advance of the trial setting with a copy forwarded
totl opg party as required by Rule 50 1.4, It must show good cause. Do not presume the motion for continuance will be
mtedn  _ Hecause it is filed. The court will advise you of its ruling.
A Subpoena may be requested if you need a witness(s) in your case. Section 22.001, Texas Civil Practice & Remedies Code
states a witness is entitled to $10 dollars for each day the witness attends court. This fee includes the entitlement for travel and
the witness is not entitli 0 any reimbursement for mileage traveled. The party who summons the witness shall pay that
witness's fee for one day, as provided by this section, at the time the subpoena is served on the witness. The witness fee must be
taxed in the bill of costs as other costs

Fee Schedule for Justice Court Suits: (MONEY ORDERS, CORRECT AMOUNT OF CASH OR CHECK WITH DL,
PHONE AND ADDRESS WRITTEN ON CHECK ACCEPTED)

New Filing Fee 1/01/2022 Court Fees Service Fees Total
Filing fee-Defendant in Tom Green Co. $54.00 $85.00 $139.00
2 Defendants (same case) $54.00 $170.00 $224.00
Defendant out-of-County $54.00 (call for amount)

For out-of-county service you must contact the Court/Constable/Sheriff of the county in which they reside for service
fee amount and address that citation will be mailed to.

Jury Fee $22.00
(Request for Jury must be made and fee paid no later than 14 days before the case is set for trial. If not timely made, the right to
a jury trial is waived).

Subpoena- witness fee $10.00 $10.00
Court Fees Service Fees Total
Abstract of Judgment $5.00 $5.00
Writ of Execution $5.00 $200.00 $205.00
Writ of Sequestration $5.00 $200.00 $205.00
Writ of Garnishment $54.00 /$5.00 $200.00 $259.00
Writ of Possession $5.00 $200.00 $205.00
Writ of Possession-Motor/mobile/manufactured $5.00 $500.00 $500.00

housing that requires removal of motor/mobile home/ manufactured housing from premises ($30.00 per hour per
officer for each hour or part of an hour that exceeds the 2 hour limit on all Writs)

Writ of Execution $5.00 $200.00 $205.00
Subpoena $85.00 $85.00
{Issued more than 5 days from court date)

Subpoena $100.00 $100.00
(Issued less than 5 days from court date)

Turnover Order $5.00 $200.00 $205.00
Ar $54.00 $54.00
Motion for new trial $54.00 $54.00

Transcript of Jud,  ent $10.00 $10.00












(SELECT THE APPLICABLE TITLE UNDER THE SIGNATURE FOR THE JURAT BELOW)

Subscribed and sworn to me on this the day of r

SEAL:

NOTARY / CLERK PCT. 3

0 Notary Public in and for the State of Texas

O Clerk of the Justice Court
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