
Petition for Occupational Driver's License 

May not be used for Commercial Driver's License Holders/NO DRIVING COMMERCIAL VEHICLES 

Required documents to accompany your petition are: 
• $46.00 Filing Fee 
• SR-22 Insurance 
• Certified Copy Type AR-Driving Record- mail off enclosed application or order and print 
online at: www.txdps.state.tx.us 
• Order of Suspension letter from DPS 
• This package completely filled out - do not sign until you are in from of a Clerk of the 
Court or in front of a notary. 

You will be required to have a hearing with a State Prosecutor present if your license has 
been suspended for the following: 
• Criminal Negligent Homicide 
• Driving While Intoxicated 
• Intoxication Assault 
• Intoxication Manslaughter 
• Minor Alcohol/Tobacco/Dangerous Drug/Volatile Chemical Offenses 

*DPS will not issue Occupational License if your driver license has been expired over two 
years 
*DPS will not issue Occupational License if you owe reinstatement fees 



TEXAS DPS 
APPLICATION FOR COPY OF DRIVER RECORD I IIII II Ill II Ill II Ill II Ill 11 11111 11111111 .i 

MAIL TO: Texas Department of Public Safety, Box 149008, Austin, TX 78714-9008 

DO NOT MAIL CASH. Mail check or money order 
payable to: Texas Department of Public Safety 

Any questions regarding the information on this form should be directed to 
the Contact Center at 51 2-424-2600. Allow 2-3 weeks for delivery. 

I __ I 1. Name - DOB - License Status - Latest Address. 

I __ I 2. Name - DOB - License Status - 3 Year Record only lists Crashes/Moving Violations. 

I __ I 2A. CERTIFIED version of #2. This Record is Not acceptable fo r a Defensive Driving Course (DDC). 

1 __ 1 3. Name - DOB - License Status - Record of ALL CrashesNiolations. Furnished to Licensee Only. 

!XJ 3A. CERTIFIED version of #3. Furnished to Licensee Only and is Acceptable for DOC_ 

I __ I 4. Abstract Record - Certifi ed abstract of completed driver record. 

I __ I Other: (Original Application, DWLI , etc.) 

Mail Driver Record To: (Please Print or Type) 

Requester's Last Name Requester 's First Name 

Street Address Texas Driver License Number 

1-1 1-1 

$ 4.00 

$ 6.00 

$10.00 

$ 7.00 

$10.00 

$ 20.00 

$_1 _I _1.00 
(If Required) 

---- -----
City State Zip Code Daytime Telephone Number (include area code) 

If requesti ng on behalf of a business, organization, or other entity, please include the following : 

Name of business, organization, entity, etc. 

Your Title or Affiliation with above 

Type of business, organization, etc. (i.e., insurance provider, towing company, private Investigation, firm, etc.) 

Information Requested On: 

Texas Driver License Number 

Last Name 

First Name 

Middle Name/Maiden Name 

l_ l_ l / l_l_l/I_ "---'----"-~ 
Date of Birth 

Individual 's Written Consent For ONE TIME Release to Above Requestor 

Suffix (SR., JR., etc.) 

(Requester, if you do not meet one of the exceptions listed on the back of th is form , please be advised that without the written consent of the driver 
license/ID card holder, the record you receive will not include personal information.) 

I, --------------------~ hereby certi fy that I granted access on this one occasion to my Driver License/ID Card 
record , inclusive of the personal information (name, address, driver identification number, etc.) to _________________ _ 

Signature of License /ID Card Holder or Parent/ Legal Guardian Date 

State and Federal Law Requires Requestors to Agree to the Following: 
In requesting and using this information , I acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (18 U.S.C. Section 2721 
et seq.) and Texas Transportation Code Chapter 730. False statements or representations to obtain personal information pertaining to any individual from 
the DPS could result in the denial to release any driver record information to myself and the entity for which I made the request. Further, I understand that 
if I receive personal information as a result of th is request, it may only be used for the stated purpose and I may only resell or redisclose the information 
pursuant to Texas Transportation Code §730.013. Violations of that section may resu lt in a crim inal charge with the possibility of a $25,000 fine. 

I certify that I have read and agree with the above conditions and that the information provided by me in this request is true and correct. If I am request­
ing this driver record on behalf of an entity, I also certify that I am authorized by that entity to make th is request on their behalf. I also acknowledge that 
fai lure to abide by the provisions of this agreement and any state and federal privacy law can subject me to both criminal and civil penalties. 

i l..:ignature of Requester Date 

~ If you are not requesting a copy of your own record or do not have the written consent of 
DL/ID holder, you must provide the information requested on the reverse. 



STEVEN C. McGRAW 
DIRECTOR 

10/19/2016 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
5805 N. LAMAR BLVD· BOX 4087 -AUSTIN, TEXAS 78773-0001 

www.dps.texas:gov 
DRIVER LICENSE DIVISION 

512-424-2600 
EN ESPANOL 512-424-7181 
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DEPUTY DIRECTORS 
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. . Yqur'driving priviJ¢gei?. JLtfiejegistrations\of motor vehid~.s owned by you will continue to be suspended beyond the 
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lf:this proof is riot alrea~foh fi,le / please mailthe SR-22 to;}he Texas Department of Public Safety, PO Box 15999, 
l.(t/stin, TX 78161-599~;:?if the SR-22 is not on file with the{Department, you will be required to pay a $100.00 (one 
hqqdred d9llars) reinst§.t~mentfee to the Texas Departme\itof Public Safety, Central Cash Division, PO Box 15999, 
Al'.Jstirii -:TX}:?761 ~ 159!;!'!;)~ Jn d_fder for the Department to cQrrectly identify your file, please provide your name, driver 

. · lic~Me):'i~rp~er, and s_~}?eris)q_h inforr:nation y,rith th~ payajent. Failure to pay the reinstatement fee will result in the 
c;f~rnal of !h~ 1,~suanceJ}~(9r re,rewal of a Texas dnver hc~ nse. 

IP}S su~pe,n.~ion 11·aslr;~~!iti'd in)he disqualification <?fan dwmmercial ~riving privile~es. An occupational or essenti~I 
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CAUSE NO. ______ _ 

EXPARTE 

(Name of Petitioner) 

§ IN THE JUSTICE COURT 
§ 
§ PRECINCT NO. 3 
§ 
§ TOM GREEN COUNTY, TEXAS 

PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE 

I, ___ _________ _ (Name of Petitioner), seek an occupational license from this 
court based on the information provided below. (You must swear that the information you provide in 
this petition is true and correct. Failure to provide true and accurate information may result in criminal 
penalties.) 

Section 1. General Information. 
You must complete all applicable sections. 

My name is: ________________ ________ _ 
My date of birth is: _ ____________________ _ 
I am a resident of _____________ County, Texas. 
Phone Number: . 
My home address is: _____________________ _ 

My mailing address (if different than above) is: _ _______ ___ _ 

My Texas driver's license number is: _____________ __ _ 
• I am employed, and my occupation is _______ _______ _ 

• I am the primary caretaker of __ children less than 16 years of age. 
• I have been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on my vehicle, 
and/ or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an ignition interlock device . 
• I have not been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on my vehicle, 
and/ or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an ignition interlock device. 
• I have a commercial driver's license. 
• I do not have a commercial driver's license. 

Section 2. Reason(s) for Driver's License Suspension. 
You must complete all applicable sections. 

• My driver's license has been suspended as the result of an arrest for an intoxication-related 
offense in _____________ County, because: 

• A peace officer requested a sample of my breath or blood and I refused; or 
• I provided a sample of my breath or blood, and the sample contained an alcohol 

concentration greater than 0.08. 



• My driver's license has been automatically suspended as the result of a conviction for Driving 
While Intoxicated (DWI) in a County or District Court. 
• My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for a criminal offense in a 
justice or municipal court. Please provide information regarding this offense, including the name of the 
court in which you were convicted, the cause number, and the type of offense, below. 

• My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a physical or mental disability. 
• My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for Racing on a Highway. 
• My driver's license has been suspended because a court found that I am a "habitual violator 
of traffic laws." 
• My driver's license has been suspended because a court ordered me to attend a Driver 
Education Program and suspended my license for 365 days. 
• My driver's license has been suspended for another reason, described below: 

Section 3. Essential Need. 
You must complete all applicable sections. 

(Note: In order to obtain an occupational license, you must demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor 
vehicle. The Texas Transportation Code defines "essential need" as the "need of a person for the operation of a 
motor vehicle: (A) in the performance of an occupation or trade or for transportation to and from the place at 
which the person practices the person's occupation or trade; (BJ for transportation to and from an educational 
facility in which the person is enrolled; or (CJ in the performance of essential household duties. "In order to 
demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor vehicle, you may attach additional documentation, such as a 
letter from your employer. If you attach additional documentation, be sure to check the appropriate box in 
Section 5 of this petition.) 

• I am seeking this occupational license in order to (check all that apply): 
• Travel to and from my place of work; 
• Perform the duties of my job; 
• Travel to and from school; or 
• Perform essential household duties. 

In the space below, provide an address and description for any destination you seek to travel to using 
an occupational license. 



In the space below, fully describe all public transportation options within one mile of any destination 
described above, including your home, place of work, school, or place where you perform essential 
household duties. Public transportation options may include bus service, rail service, rural automobile 
service, ride-sharing services, etc. 

• I am the only member of my household who owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle. 
• A member of my household other than me owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle . 

(Please describe this person's weekly schedule below.) 

• I own a bicycle or other means of non-motorized conveyance, described below. 

• My work or school schedule is the same every week: I work or attend school during the 
following hours on the following days of the week (check all that apply): • Monday: from 

to 

• Tuesday: from to 

• Wednesday: from to 

• Thursday: from to 

• Friday: from to 

• Saturday: from to 

• Sunday: from to 



• My work or school schedule varies from week to week. (If you check this box, provide a general 
description of your work or school schedule below, including the total number of hours you work or attend 
school each week, days of the week on which you never work or attend school, days of the week on which you 
always work or attend school, and the earliest time your work or school day begins and the latest time your 
work or school day ends.) 

• My job duties include automobile travel. My employer requires me to travel by automobile to 
perform the following tasks: 

• I perform the following essential household duties: 

• In order to perform the essential household duties described above, I must travel by 
automobile during the following hours on the following days of the week (check all that apply): 

• Monday: from to 

• Tuesday: from to 

• Wednesday: from to 

• Thursday: from to 

• Friday: from to 

• Saturday: from to 

• Sunday: from to 



• In order to: 
• Travel to school; 
• Travel to my place of work; 
• Perform my job duties ; or 
• Travel to the place I perform essential household duties; 

I must travel by automobile to or through the following Texas counties (please folly describe all 
counties and routes traveled): 

Section 4. Suspension History 
You must complete all applicable sections. 
My driver's license has previously been suspended for: 

• A second or subsequent conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal 
Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 
49.08, Penal Code), committed within five years of a previous conviction for Driving While 
Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or 
Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code). 

In the past five years, my license has been suspended for: 
• A refusal to submit to the taking of a breath or blood specimen following an arrest for an 

offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or an offense prohibiting the operation of a 
watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled 
substance. 

• An analysis of a breath or blood specimen showing an alcohol concentration of .08 or 
above, following an arrest for an offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft 
while intoxicated. 

• A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication 
Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08 , Penal Code). 

• A conviction for an offense other than Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal 
Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 
49. 08, Penal Code) prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated, 
under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance. 

Section 5. Additional Documents. 
You must complete all applicable sections. 

• I have obtained evidence of financial responsibility, which is attached to my petition. (Note: 
You may not be issued an occupational license unless you obtain evidence of financial responsibility.) 
• I have attached a certified copy of my driving record to this petition. (Note: the court cannot 
grant your petition without reviewing your driving record.) 



• I have attached documents which demonstrate my essential need to operate a motor vehicle. 
• I have attached other documents, which are described below: 

PRAYER 

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner prays that this Honorable Court grant this Petition 

for Occupational License, and to send a copy of its order granting petitioner's occupational license to 

the Department of Public Safety of Texas. 

Petitioner' s Signature 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS DAY OF --

, 20 ------------- --

Seal: 

Notary Public or Clerk of the Justice Court 

Approved 
---

Denied ---
Justice of the Peace, Pct.3 


